Severe performance issues

Babylon 5 mod for Homeworld 2
<small>» <a href="http://hw2b5.thegamingunion.co.uk">Website</a></small>

Moderator: Zeelich

User avatar
Killer11
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 4:56 pm
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

Severe performance issues

Post by Killer11 » Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:02 pm

Hello, I have a very big problem with the mod.
It runs fine if i only overlook ships but god forbid if i get an asteroid or a tiny piece of a dust cloud on screen(usually asteroids produce more severe slowdowns) then it can barely churn out 10 fps. Actually even if i only have a single asteroid on screen fully zoomed in the lag is HUGE.
I used to play this mod before on maps with lots of asteroids and dust clouds with a lot of ships on screen and it was running fine.

Lowering everything to insanely low settings doesn't change anything BTW. And vanilla HW2 runs fine.

My specs are:
Core 2 Duo E8200 runing @ 3.2Ghz
2gigs of DDR2 ram @ 800mhz
Ati Radeon HD3870 512 GDDR4

Using Windows 7 64Bit, Catalyst 9.11 and game version is 1.1.

Can anyone help me solve this?

User avatar
TheOneNamedViper
Posts: 6859
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2000 1:00 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by TheOneNamedViper » Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:59 pm

Try deleting the shader folder to see if that does anything. If it does, then the reason would be that the new shaders do something to the asteroids.

If that's the case, we'll have to turn the case over to CnlPepper to see if he can do something about it.

User avatar
Killer11
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 4:56 pm
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

Post by Killer11 » Sat Dec 19, 2009 7:12 pm

Yup deleting the shader folder removed the lag.

User avatar
TheOneNamedViper
Posts: 6859
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2000 1:00 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by TheOneNamedViper » Sat Dec 19, 2009 10:58 pm

I thought so. Now we just need CnlPepper in here to figure out what's causing the asteroids to use more resources (no pun intended).

User avatar
CnlPepper
Posts: 1621
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2000 12:00 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Post by CnlPepper » Sun Dec 20, 2009 5:59 pm

Hmm, interesting. I haven't got an explanation right now but I'll look into it. I am quite surprised the shaders for the asteroids are causing trouble as they use the same code as the ships. Very odd. I'll have a look and see if I can find the reason when I get some free time.

User avatar
Killer11
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 4:56 pm
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

Post by Killer11 » Wed Dec 30, 2009 2:08 pm

This is clearly an ATI issue here. Seeing as when I put an old GF8500GT the only thing that lagged excesively were the planets and that's because 8500GT is a VERY BAD card. It's amazing how my new HD4870 1GB GDDR5 Seemingly can't handle hw2 with custom shaders at all, when it can handle Crysis.

User avatar
TheOneNamedViper
Posts: 6859
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2000 1:00 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by TheOneNamedViper » Wed Dec 30, 2009 3:59 pm

Try the -noVBO command line switch. It's been known to fix problems with ATI cards.

User avatar
Killer11
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 4:56 pm
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

Post by Killer11 » Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:04 pm

Didn't help, also with the new drivers all alpha transparency seems to have dissapeared and so i see Omegas and Novas with tons of white blank texture space where transparency should be. This is getting hilarious.

User avatar
TheOneNamedViper
Posts: 6859
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2000 1:00 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by TheOneNamedViper » Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:54 pm

Perhaps try to roll back to an older set of drivers to see if that fixes it. around 8.3 should do it if possible.

If it does fix the problem, I guess your best bet is to contact ATI to report the problem and hope they fix it in a later driver.

User avatar
Killer11
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 4:56 pm
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

Post by Killer11 » Thu Dec 31, 2009 5:56 pm

8.3 doesn't support HD 4xxx series, 8.7 does but it's simply ancient and would most likely provide me with a boatload of issues in other games seeign as it's the first version of HD 4870 driver, not to mention no official win 7 support, i tried 9.6 which came with my card and it still lagged.

Post Reply

Return to “Babylon 5: War Without End”