ST: Romulus Mod disscussion

The HW:Trek guys take on HW:2!

Moderators: TheStressPuppy, Dolphoenix, Dasher42

Captain Pierce
Posts: 5944
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2001 1:00 pm
Location: I\'m from Iowa--I only work in outer space
Contact:

Post by Captain Pierce » Tue Jan 06, 2004 1:19 pm

Yeah, but my concern is that (at least in this mod), the things you'd want a shuttle to do won't be done well by the AI. Especially considering that the only things shuttles are really going to be good for is recon.

TheStressPuppy
Posts: 2869
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Post by TheStressPuppy » Tue Jan 06, 2004 4:49 pm

Cap is right,

Shuttles should be demoted to thier canon roles. Administrative Shuttles transporting diplomats, ambassadors, and high ranking officials will be hard if not impossible to pull off unless its mission specific, and the shuttle is made into a hero unit.

Recon, and Harvest/Repair/Salvage dutys (workbees) are already coded into the game. Its just a matter of a making a model to represent it.

Im expecting mainly a medium to large capitol ship slugfest. the smallest combat ship may be just larger than corvette size.

Captain Pierce
Posts: 5944
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2001 1:00 pm
Location: I\'m from Iowa--I only work in outer space
Contact:

Post by Captain Pierce » Wed Jan 07, 2004 1:23 am

I'm always right, you of all people should know that by now, Stress... [img]tongue.gif[/img]

Zeelich
Posts: 5546
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by Zeelich » Wed Jan 07, 2004 6:21 am

LOL! :D

Don't be so modest. [img]tongue.gif[/img]
Image
"You WILL respect my authority!" - Eric Cartman

TheStressPuppy
Posts: 2869
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Post by TheStressPuppy » Wed Jan 07, 2004 4:49 pm

Originally posted by Captain Pierce:
I'm always right, you of all people should know that by now, Stress... [img]tongue.gif[/img]
Hehehe then why havnt u released TW.03 yet? Huh? Hmmm? huh? hmmm? [img]tongue.gif[/img] [img]tongue.gif[/img]

[ 07. January 2004, 03:50 PM: Message edited by: TheStressPuppy ]

Captain Pierce
Posts: 5944
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2001 1:00 pm
Location: I\'m from Iowa--I only work in outer space
Contact:

Post by Captain Pierce » Thu Jan 08, 2004 12:28 am

Because it's not the "RIGHT" time yet. [img]tongue.gif[/img]

Oh, and calling it 0.3 isn't right, either. [img]tongue.gif[/img] [img]tongue.gif[/img] It's going to be 0.21.

TheStressPuppy
Posts: 2869
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Post by TheStressPuppy » Thu Jan 08, 2004 8:05 pm

I dont see a point in making "Squadrons" of capitol ships. Especially with the docking bug of a squadron. squadron has 5, loses 3 in battle, docks, and its restored to 5 again ( gains 3 free fighters on docking ). We already have the strike group function.

Ok, im at the point to where i want to start building this puppy. Those who are on board post what they can contribute in the Romulus thread in the dev boards.

Im gonna need scripters BADLY for this one since HW2 is ALL about scripting. Cap' im really gonna need ya for this, and anyone else who can script.

Model department is taken care of. (Still have to tool up, and build/rebuild some models)

HW2 FX artist line up at the door. Prefer to use SoA style weapon FX upgraded to hw2 standards

Sounds will be needed this time, no more lets "pretend" to hear the phaser to the HW ion cannon sound.

Would like to have a Mapper on board too. Anyone who can make a map say so.

[ 08. January 2004, 07:38 PM: Message edited by: TheStressPuppy ]

TheStressPuppy
Posts: 2869
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Post by TheStressPuppy » Mon Jan 26, 2004 6:24 am

This is gonna come as a dissapointment to you all as it is to me. Im putting this mod on the shelf for now. Reason is simple. We have nothing to work with as far as modding tools for hw2 go, and frankly im tired of waiting. What little tools we do have wont work for the kind of ST:HW quality mod we have in mind. I dont have maya, and i feel i shouldnt have to spend 5000 bucks, and spend 4 years learning maya when i already have, and know 3dsmax, and milkshape.

So untill HWSE2 or a fully FUNCTIONAL importer arrives there isnt much more we can do. Sorry folks

Post Reply

Return to “Homeworld 2 Trek”