Wells Class in HW2

The HW:Trek guys take on HW:2!

Moderators: TheStressPuppy, Dolphoenix, Dasher42

Redragon
Posts: 971
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by Redragon » Sat Jun 19, 2004 8:52 am

Check it out guys, conversion done by StarFleet and if all goes well, I hope to have him do the rest of our ships Image
Image Image
<a href="http://www.trekmods.com/" target="_blank"> TrekMods</a>
<i>"When it's too tough for them, it's just right for us"</i>

User avatar
FendeR
Posts: 1136
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Netanya,Israel
Contact:

Post by FendeR » Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:03 pm

Awsome!
Someday, I'll own one of these biatches...:grinangel
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Sjet vs. Kerrigan
Posts: 2745
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Contact:

Post by Sjet vs. Kerrigan » Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:12 pm

Wow, that mesh looks a whole lot better than the model I have! However, in the second picture, you can see that the text on the left wing is mirrored.

TheStressPuppy
Posts: 2869
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Post by TheStressPuppy » Sat Jun 19, 2004 2:24 pm

Nice looking ship good job on convert ....but... u need to weld yer vertices b4 u convert cause u got a seem running down the center of the ship :D

Starfleet
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Starfleet » Sat Jun 19, 2004 11:08 pm

the welding is in part my fault, but i did that convert in really fast, given that it was to show i did have maya 3 and could do it ;)

The other problem with that one is the texture size.. which is mangled slightly cause it's not to the standard texture sizes.

And the mirror stuff well as i said over on SFM, worked with what i had hehe
;)

Sterlino
Junior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by Sterlino » Sun Jun 20, 2004 12:38 am

But it is really so difficult to build ships in H2 ??

and why ?

TheStressPuppy
Posts: 2869
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Post by TheStressPuppy » Sun Jun 20, 2004 1:13 am

It is not difficult to model a ship, no more difficult than for homeworld 1 or any other games mod. The main malfunction of HW2 is that maya 3 (not 4 not 5 but 3) is REQUIRED to import a ship. Have you ever tried to work with maya? I personally would rather be dipped in honey and set on a top of a fire ant mound.

This is whats been holding us up for so long in modding HW2. The general inability to import a ship model that can use all of HW2's features. Hopefully that will change soon [img]smile.gif[/img]

Again nice job on converting Starfleet. Did you make any bump maps for that ship? looks like its got some :D

[ 20. June 2004, 01:17 AM: Message edited by: TheStressPuppy ]

Captain Pierce
Posts: 5944
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2001 1:00 pm
Location: I\'m from Iowa--I only work in outer space
Contact:

Post by Captain Pierce » Sun Jun 20, 2004 3:30 am

Actually, Maya 5 should work as well, with the recompiled plugins that somebody made... CJ and I have not yet had time to test this theory, however, as he's been too busy fighting Maya on other fronts... ;)

Zeelich
Posts: 5546
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Post by Zeelich » Sun Jun 20, 2004 6:58 am

Which doesn't help people like me who can't use Maya5 because we don't run WinXP on our machines. [img]smile.gif[/img]

Not that it matters that much. Homeworld2 was rather dissapointing to me.

Nice work on the mesh. It looks great, just like in the show. [img]smile.gif[/img] Very impressive.

[ 20. June 2004, 07:01 AM: Message edited by: Zeelich ]
Image
"You WILL respect my authority!" - Eric Cartman

TheStressPuppy
Posts: 2869
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Post by TheStressPuppy » Sun Jun 20, 2004 2:34 pm

What we need to do is to find a way to "motivate" the code monkeys into making a working model importer for 3dsmax :D

Post Reply

Return to “Homeworld 2 Trek”