What if...

The HW:Trek guys take on HW:2!

Moderators: TheStressPuppy, Dolphoenix, Dasher42

Rhitick
Junior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 1:00 am
Location: nepean, ontario, canada

Post by Rhitick » Mon Mar 29, 2004 8:28 pm

...someone had maya would they just have to convert the ships to 3ds for HW2?

I know someone that has it and he said he let me mess wit it if you need someone to import the models

Captain Pierce
Posts: 5944
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2001 1:00 pm
Location: I\'m from Iowa--I only work in outer space
Contact:

Post by Captain Pierce » Mon Mar 29, 2004 8:37 pm

It's a wee bit more complicated than that... ;)

Well, OK, actually it's a whole shedload more complicated than that, but you get the idea... :D Modding HW2 is almost nothing like modding HW, and at the moment, even with Maya, it's far from fully understood.

[ 29. March 2004, 08:42 PM: Message edited by: Captain Pierce ]

Rhitick
Junior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 1:00 am
Location: nepean, ontario, canada

Post by Rhitick » Mon Mar 29, 2004 8:40 pm

How so, enlighten me ;)

Id like to help any way i can, it would look amazing to have an SoA variant in HW2.

User avatar
TheOneNamedViper
Posts: 6859
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2000 1:00 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by TheOneNamedViper » Mon Mar 29, 2004 9:14 pm

Let's just say that if you aren't completely familiar with Maya in the first place, you aren't gonna know how to successfully use the HW2 importer. Trust me, it's in no way easy. :(

Rhitick
Junior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 1:00 am
Location: nepean, ontario, canada

Post by Rhitick » Mon Mar 29, 2004 9:47 pm

crap...


oh hey i just read on the relic boards theyre able to use 3dsmax for importing?

yeah im digging hehe

Vidar
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 12:00 am

Post by Vidar » Tue Mar 30, 2004 1:26 pm

Modding HW2 may become a great deal easier when Delphy finishes HWSE2, but that may still take a long while.

Talonpest
Junior Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2000 1:00 am
Location: Santa Cruz, CA, USA

Post by Talonpest » Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:39 pm

Evillejedi over on the Relic forums seems to have figured out how to do it well enough to get 60+ ships in game in his Star Wars: Warlords mod, and there was even a Star Trek mod that was going until SvK pointed out that he was illegally using Armada II models.

Does he just have a copy of the right version of Maya or what?

User avatar
Meurig
Posts: 7746
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by Meurig » Tue Mar 30, 2004 10:12 pm

Originally posted by TheOneNamedViper:
Let's just say that if you aren't completely familiar with Maya in the first place, you aren't gonna know how to successfully use the HW2 importer.
Says who?

Sjet vs. Kerrigan
Posts: 2745
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Contact:

Post by Sjet vs. Kerrigan » Tue Mar 30, 2004 11:27 pm

Taking models from people who are not registered on the Relic forums is no longer an offense at the Relic forums. :( Slamoid could restart the mod if he wanted to.

Captain Pierce
Posts: 5944
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2001 1:00 pm
Location: I\'m from Iowa--I only work in outer space
Contact:

Post by Captain Pierce » Wed Mar 31, 2004 1:20 am

I have no idea how EvilJedi is doing what he's doing; Slamoid was using various of Pipakin's tools, which he was able to do primarily because the Armada 2 models only use one textures to start with.

I didn't say it was impossible, BTW--only that it was harder than, say, throwing stuff into HW. [img]tongue.gif[/img]

Post Reply

Return to “Homeworld 2 Trek”