When do you reckon the mod tools will be out?

The HW:Trek guys take on HW:2!

Moderators: TheStressPuppy, Dolphoenix, Dasher42

TheStressPuppy
Posts: 2869
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Post by TheStressPuppy » Sun Oct 19, 2003 12:44 am

Its gonna be the PLE version 5.0. it can only save in its own format (like gmax), and alot of the maya complete, and unlimited features will NOT be available (read the FAQ about it). It doesnt mean anything ether way, because as far as we know the relic tools work in maya version 3.0 ONLY. 4.5, and 5.0 have no backward compatibility between plugins. I am counting more on spooky, and delphy tools to help us out more than relic tools will. unless u can find maya 3.0 on ebay :/

User avatar
Pos_21
Posts: 2243
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Missouri (Kansas side), US
Contact:

Post by Pos_21 » Sun Oct 19, 2003 5:14 am

perhaps the reason for the delay in tools is for Relic to re-code the plugins for 5.0

Captain Pierce
Posts: 5944
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2001 1:00 pm
Location: I\'m from Iowa--I only work in outer space
Contact:

Post by Captain Pierce » Sun Oct 19, 2003 5:28 am

Or maybe it's just because everyone went on vacation after HW2 was released... ;)

Darth1o9
Posts: 3483
Joined: Wed May 09, 2001 12:00 pm
Location: Ipswich, England
Contact:

Post by Darth1o9 » Tue Oct 21, 2003 6:55 pm

damn it, does that mean that will effect chances of getting a new cd eat my dog eats it?

Captain Pierce
Posts: 5944
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2001 1:00 pm
Location: I\'m from Iowa--I only work in outer space
Contact:

Post by Captain Pierce » Wed Oct 22, 2003 12:38 am

CD replacement has nothing to do with Relic, that's Sierra's department.

And why the hell is your dog eating your CD's? :confused:

User avatar
maxdamage
Posts: 2542
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Gauteng, South Africa
Contact:

Post by maxdamage » Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:27 am

Originally posted by Skeeter:
And remember the tools are only going to work with maya or so ive been told by delphy.
They better not work only with Maya only because I've now sort of learnt how to create cool ships and a mech in Milkshape3d!

maxdamage

Captain Pierce
Posts: 5944
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2001 1:00 pm
Location: I\'m from Iowa--I only work in outer space
Contact:

Post by Captain Pierce » Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:41 am

The official Relic mod tools are (at this point) only confirmed to work with Maya--and a very specific (and no longer available) version of Maya, 3.0 to be precise.

Of course, this will make them next to completely useless.

However, there's already been substantial progress made with the creation of unofficial mod tools (which is of course what we've been using on the original all these years), and nobody's even seen a file specification yet. :D Once Relic gives up the file formats, Delphy, Crook, Spooky, Pesmontis, and undoubtedly (and hopefully ;) )some new faces will almost certainly be able to replicate everything that the official tools do eventually.

So the Maya requirement is hardly anything to get your panties all in a twist about...

Sjet vs. Kerrigan
Posts: 2745
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Contact:

Post by Sjet vs. Kerrigan » Wed Oct 22, 2003 2:03 am

maxdamage, why do you have to re-install Wondows to use Milkshape?

Captain Pierce
Posts: 5944
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2001 1:00 pm
Location: I\'m from Iowa--I only work in outer space
Contact:

Post by Captain Pierce » Wed Oct 22, 2003 2:15 am

So he can be cheap and not buy it?

Wondows is picky that way... [img]tongue.gif[/img]

User avatar
maxdamage
Posts: 2542
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Gauteng, South Africa
Contact:

Post by maxdamage » Thu Oct 23, 2003 10:30 pm

Originally posted by Captain Pierce:
So he can be cheap and not buy it?

Wondows is picky that way... [img]tongue.gif[/img]
I'm not cheap!!! :( $20 is a lot of money in South Africa since the Rand to Dollar exchange is
R7.10 to $1!That means that it will cost me R142 excluding bank charges but when using a credit card and since it will increase the total amount spent on the programe to R200 or $28.That makes it a R100 less than HW2 at the local computer store!Also at the moment I'm also unemployed and do not know when I'll get work again :(

maxdamage.

[ 23. October 2003, 10:35 PM: Message edited by: maxdamage ]

Post Reply

Return to “Homeworld 2 Trek”