Rimworld hauler part 3

The dark nightmare in the making

Moderators: Meurig, Steelviper

User avatar
TheOneNamedViper
Posts: 6859
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2000 1:00 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by TheOneNamedViper » Mon Dec 15, 2003 2:34 pm

Indeed it does. :D

User avatar
Meurig
Posts: 7746
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by Meurig » Mon Dec 15, 2003 10:21 pm

Eeeee! Update.

The side bit's detailed now, and I've taken the pipes from the bottom, they looked quite stupid and didnt seem to serve a purpose, so I'm putting a big conduit on the bottom now.

Where the side pipes are at the head's widest point, im going to put some conduits beneath those too.

If I can get some reference for it, I'm going to make a Vogon Constructor ship and give this project a little rest, if i can't find reference I will move on to the new spine.

Image

Elite
Posts: 2150
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Uranus

Post by Elite » Thu Jan 01, 2004 11:27 pm

Damn that's detailed.. only thing that bothers me is the amount of handrails on it, yeah those pipe things that look like handrails. Also when you compare the size of the hanger bays and the antenna mass ontop those windows look to be to big.. looks like you could fly a fighter in one of them with ease. Besides that it's rocking.

User avatar
Meurig
Posts: 7746
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by Meurig » Fri Jan 02, 2004 12:18 am

The windows are staying their current size. I have a reason for them.

Elite
Posts: 2150
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Uranus

Post by Elite » Sat Jan 03, 2004 10:15 am

Ahh, they are probably going to be some big ass beings manning those vessels.

User avatar
Meurig
Posts: 7746
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by Meurig » Sat Jan 03, 2004 10:37 am

Nope, the inside of those windows work out at about 2m high, and all the way around the outside, in all those windows bits its access corridors with big floor-cieling windows. (these are already measured)
I'm having the corridors on the outside and actual rooms in the core of the ship for a reason, theyre safer there! Never understood the whole trek thing of putting your most vulernable area right at the top of the ship where its clearly visible and a piss-easy target, the bridge of the Hephaistos is deep within the head, it'd take quite a bit of time to get into it from teh outside.

I am going to model and texture the corridors into the actual mesh, plain white windows just look flat and boring to me, thisll give them some actual depth [img]smile.gif[/img]

User avatar
reapernoire
Posts: 2530
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:00 pm
Location: Manchester, On this rock we call home
Contact:

Post by reapernoire » Sat Jan 03, 2004 5:47 pm

I'm liking your line of thinking lad, i've often thought the same about rooms on the inside of ships rather than trek style ready for a well placed shot.


those windows are 2 metres...still a pretty big ship innint, though not as big as i thought it was(I was thinking battle fleet gothic sizes, but nm)

SyntaxVorlon
Posts: 1301
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Inside your computer
Contact:

Post by SyntaxVorlon » Sun Jan 04, 2004 6:51 am

Little question: What is this from?
Very nice, what's the poly count up to?

Steelviper
Posts: 2761
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Steelviper » Sun Jan 04, 2004 7:31 pm

Originally posted by SyntaxVorlon:
Little question: What is this from?
Very nice, what's the poly count up to?
Well this ship is from the Dark Age HW2 mod Rimworlds [img]smile.gif[/img] No idea about the poly count of that ship, but it will only be used to render textures from it for the low poly HW2 game version of this ship.
[URL=http://ghillielair.atspace.com/]
<b>Click to visit the Ghillie Lair
</b>

Post Reply

Return to “Dark Age Homeworld Mod”