Wow!?

Discussions of various Star Trek ships and mods for Homeworld

Moderators: Redragon, TheStressPuppy, Dolphoenix

Post Reply
korunks
Junior Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2001 1:00 am

Post by korunks » Fri Dec 31, 2004 6:27 am

I dug out Soa the other night for nostaligia purposes, (and to cure a little boredom) but when I installed it the graphics like the ngine glows, nav lights, phasers, and even photons have been all messed up. I followed the basic clean homeworld install, update, mod. Anyone have any clue what went wrong?

User avatar
Pierce 2: The Sequel
Posts: 922
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 1:00 pm
Location: I'm from Iowa--I only work in outer space

Post by Pierce 2: The Sequel » Sat Jan 01, 2005 7:09 am

How many players were in your game? I never saw it myself, because I'm a 1v1 kind of guy, but apparently the last build of SoA had texture corruption problems if you had too many players...

korunks
Junior Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2001 1:00 am

Post by korunks » Sat Jan 01, 2005 2:59 pm

Now that you mention it pierce I remember that multiple player texture glitch. I had three people 2v1. Lemme run it again with just one. Thanks!

korunks
Junior Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2001 1:00 am

Post by korunks » Sun Jan 02, 2005 3:08 am

problem solved, Thanks pierce!

User avatar
maxdamage
Posts: 2542
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Gauteng, South Africa
Contact:

Post by maxdamage » Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:56 am

I have both v_9 and v_95a and both have texture corruption with 2 or more players even sometimes with just 1v1.Still both versions of the mod were good but did not like the new resource controller for the federation in v_95a.

maxdamage.
ImageNFS:MW NFS:U2 NFS:C Graaaagh! hellkom
"Now witness the firepower of this fully armed and operational battle-station"- Emperor Palpatine in the Star Wars movie Star Wars Episode 6:Return of the Jedi!
"I was elected to lead not read!" by Pres.Schwarzenegger in The Simpsons :The movie!

TheStressPuppy
Posts: 2869
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Post by TheStressPuppy » Tue Jan 04, 2005 7:12 am

Yes the corruption has been an ongoing problem for quite a while, All the HW mods have it to some degree, and sorry to say, but it doesnt look like there is a fix for it. We have tried everything we could think of short of "nerfing" the already low resolution textures down even lower.

Like Pierce said, If you play 1 vs 1 the problem doesnt come up often, but more than 1 more than likely you will get corruption.

We are open to suggestions on how to fix this.

Post Reply

Return to “Homeworld Trek”