Page 1 of 1

Note on Homeworld in XP

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 7:43 pm
by Dolphoenix
I think alot of people don't realize it, but you CAN run HW on XP, WITH opengl.

Rightclick on your homeworld.exe.
Choose Properties.
then click on the compatibility tab.
THen check the box to Run this program in comatability mode
then select Windows NT4.0 (service pack 5)
and hit apply

Now you can run gl gaphics :)

A similar method will work on windows 2k (compatability wizard)

As for Vista.. no idea, don't have it.. anyone know?

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 8:06 pm
by TheOneNamedViper
Yup, just confirmed it works on Vista too, even in 64-bit.

Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:23 pm
by Brightside
Im runnning xp, all you have to do is put it in your DVD drive.;)

Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 1:34 am
by TheOneNamedViper
Yeah, but if you didn't enable compatibility mode, you're running in D3D mode instead of the preferred OpenGL mode. We never said it wouldn't run at all...