The San Philip

Written some fiction? Wanna participate in a boardwar? Wanna read some fiction! Heres your place!

Moderator: InocPrime

Post by deathblane » Thu Aug 07, 2003 9:20 pm

Ok, this is my first attempt at a scifi story, so here goes...

It was a time of chaos. The collapse of the Terren Alliance and the devastating advance of the Haradine war fleet almost 60 years before led to destruction on an unprecedented scale. The opportunistic expansion of countless minor alien races and groups of humans had filled the resultant power vacuum with a patchwork of worlds and confederacies.

The bar was typical of portside taverns all over the human inhabited worlds. Dim lights partially illuminated the crowded interior, human and non-human shapes alike sitting or standing in small groups, drinking a bizarre variety of drinks. Metal and plastic tables, muted local music and ingrained grime that no amount of automated cleaning could remove.
Canner paused at the entrance to hand his pistol to the automated security door, rare in places like this. ‘Probably why he chose this place’ he muttered to no one in particular. He scanned the room for his contact. It took a moment before he saw him, a small business type, standard human, sitting alone in a corner. Several burly types standing in a group a few paces away looked suspiciously like bodyguards.
He brought a drink from the bartender, a vaguely squid like alien, but still better than a machine.
When he sat down the contact seemed to start, though he must have seen Canner as soon as he entered the bar. He extended a hand, ‘Mr Sorovitch I presume, I was beginning to think you would not come’ He had a thin dry voice, with a hint of an oriental accent. Canner ignored the hand.
‘I had some trouble with the port authorities’
Actually he had deliberately delayed to see if the contact would wait around for him.