little WC:T update

Showcase your high poly, low poly, finished, wip and renders right here for all to see!

Moderator: theblessedsheridan

Post Reply
Chevieblazer
Posts: 1357
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2002 1:00 pm
Location: Gateway Station, Heaven's Gate System

Post by Chevieblazer » Thu Jul 07, 2005 1:55 pm

whew, took me day to figure out the names that nexus wants for engines and such are surface names, not part names :rolleyes:

so now, that's what the WC:T ships look like in the model viewer(and ingame)

the hornet:
Image

the dralti:
Image

and the snakeir:
Image

Image

Image

btw, does anybody know how to create "single point polygons" in lightwave?
it's something to do with the points to polys button, i know, but, do i need to lelect the point i want to convert or deselct them or something?
i really need to know for the turrets!
You stop that!You scare my chicken!(Wing Commander)

User avatar
Meurig
Posts: 7746
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by Meurig » Thu Jul 07, 2005 2:56 pm

I would do it by making a normal quad and then welding all its points together. I think that works?

Chevieblazer
Posts: 1357
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2002 1:00 pm
Location: Gateway Station, Heaven's Gate System

Post by Chevieblazer » Thu Jul 07, 2005 11:12 pm

well, you're the modelling guru, and lightwave-expert, so you should know.
but once iv'e made a quad, how do i scale(or merge) the four close enough together to weld them?

User avatar
Crook
Posts: 3900
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Contact:

Post by Crook » Sat Jul 23, 2005 6:28 pm

Selecting a single point and then clicking points to polys will do it.

Chevieblazer
Posts: 1357
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2002 1:00 pm
Location: Gateway Station, Heaven's Gate System

Post by Chevieblazer » Sat Jul 23, 2005 6:49 pm

i actually tried that, and it din't work(prolly did something wrong, but i just copy/pasetd one from an original nexus model, and it worked. i have a good deal of stuff ingame these days, and i'm just waiting for the tgu upload to work again to post some pics

User avatar
Meurig
Posts: 7746
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2000 1:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by Meurig » Sun Jul 24, 2005 12:56 am

To weld, select the ones you want welded and press shift+W, this will merge to the position of the last point you selected.

Or use the weld average tool in one of hte furthest right tabs. Detail, I think?

Mine has a customised interface so I don't remember the original tool layout.

Post Reply

Return to “3D Showcase Forum”